Books · reading

May Reading Wrap Up

Good Afternoon fellow readers! I hope that you had a great memorial day. In todays post i will be going over the books that i read in May and will also pick out my favorite book of the month. 

So lets go ahead and get started. I will list them in the order that I read them and give a few thoughts on the story.

Jackaby (Jackaby #1) by William Ritter.

jackaby

First I read this book with the book club that i joined on facebook, and this was the pick for the month of May. i read this book fairly quickly, I gave it 3 stars on good reads. and the reason, i finished it just because i wanted to find out what happens at the end, but basically it was a slow story with not much happening but a lotof guessing and running around. nothing really happened until 75% threw the book.. and then it happened all at once.. i gave it 3 stars because it had potential but somehow the author kinda missed the mark.


 

The Hatching (the hatching#1) By Ezekiel Boone

Ok this one i won an arc of from the publisher and this book does not come out until 7/5/16 so i cannot really say anything about it until closer to the release date! please stay tuned for a detailed review


Ripper(Ripper#1) By Amy Carol Reeves

 

What can I say about this book, I gave it 4 stars on goodreads. it started out slow but mostly that was because of the back story that needed to be told. it definitely wasn’t what i expected. I loved it really I did. The Author took an even in history and made it her own. I am really excited to finish the series, and see where the story goes.


Humans of New York By Brandon Stanton

 

This book received 5 stars on good reads. I loved the photos. I loved the little details about the photos. The author/Photographer really catches human nature at its best. definitely a great coffee table book.


 

Mr Penumbras 24 Hour Book store By Robin Sloan

 

I actually did a review on this one so see previous post.!


China Rich Girlfriends(Crazy Rich Asians #2) by Kevin Kwan

I knew that this was the second book in the series but i thought that you could read it as a stand alone. well you can but the thing about this book is that if you didnt read the first one then you will be confused at first when you start, but after awhile it becomes it own story line. so before i tell you my thoughts I suggest that  you do read the first book.

Now this book i gave 5 stars on goodreads. i really like the story, it was funny, and light but also so true, in a general sense. in my review i stated that there is a little history woven in the story, and i loved that.

i also said that people with money have multiple personalities(NOT ALL BUT THE SUPER SUPER WEALTHY) and that they let you see the face that benefits them the most. When behind closed doors things may not be as perfect as they seem. This is something else that you see in this story.


Now  here is where i choose my book that I loved the most this Month and the one that I recommend you read!

and the winner is.….

why I choose this book, well ill give you a little something to peak your interest.. it is creepy as hell and would make a great made for tv movie!!

** i am not in any way being compensated by the author or publisher for my review of the hatching. this is just one of those books that i really wanted to help promote, because i thought that it was that great. **

As always I hope that you enjoyed this post. and remember

READING IS SEXY

MELLI

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.